Confluence Culture

Energy Hacking

Posted in Uncategorized by oliverhulland on January 11, 2010

The problem with starting up a blog is maintaining momentum of posts. While I was happy with some of the writing on the site, I was struggling to maintain high quality writing with a high intensity of posting. And so my motivation wained.

Now that the holidays have ceased and I have returned to work I have made a few changes that I hope will allow me to be more creatively productive. My position at the RCEA is still chugging along, and while I am learning more than ever about energy efficiency I couldn’t help but notice my energy use was becoming astonishingly inefficient. It wasn’t my electricity usage that was faltering, but my own energy levels.

I can’t stand sitting for 8 hours at work. I believe that this uninspired lethargy is partially responsible for my degraded attention span, my declining productivity, and my overall crankiness towards the end of the day. While it took me a couple of months to get around to making the change, I have finally switched to a standing desk. While most standing desks are exorbitantly expensive (and large), I found a suitable alternative on craigslist for about 30 bucks in the form of an old podium. I use a Macbook Pro at work and so had no need for a large flat surface, so the tilted stand of the podium provides a more ergonomic setting for the keyboard making typing more comfortable than the previous situation.

While today is only the first day of this work hacking experiment I honestly believe it is already having an impact. I have greater visibility around the office, I can no longer hide behind my computer screen while perusing google reader, and it has been that much easier to step away from my computer to start working on another project.

Many people who switch to standing desks report increased aches and pains in their legs and backs. I hope to be able to avoid this by working primarily in my new Vibram Five Finger shoes (another post for another day), and so far so good.

If anybody out there is contemplating switching to a standing desk I highly recommend giving it a try. It doesn’t take much to raise your computer a couple more feet and to get you on to your feet. I will be sure to update my feelings on the change in the next few weeks.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. liz said, on January 19, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    this sounds like such an awesome idea. i would really like to try it, but i am a little concerneda bout what it would be like to maintain that while i’m all by myself in my office (i’m almost too isolated). i’ve been having a lot of trouble with my arms and back from working at my computer, and i wonder if this would help!


Leave a Reply

